1. Knowledge Base
  2. >
  3. Results
  4. >
  5. How to Add/Remove an Email Account

How to Add/Remove an Email Account

 

By default, cPanel comes with one primary email account. Instead of using the default email account, we strongly recommend setting up a new email account using the steps below.

Note: If you are managing existing email accounts, we have an additional article regarding how to export and import mail from a mailbox. This may be used to create backups of your mail, as well as to migrate mail from one email address to another or from one server to another.

Users deleting email accounts may wish to use this feature to keep important messages.

Create an Email Account

To create a new email account in cPanel:

  1. Go to the EMAIL section of cPanel, and click Email Accounts.
  2. Under the Add Email Account section in the Email field, type the first part of the email address.
  3. Select the appropriate domain to associate with the email from the Domain drop-down menu.
  4. For the Password, enter a password for the email address. This will be useful later when you set up a third-party email program or enter the email account via webmail.
  5. In the Password (again) field, enter the password again.
    Pay attention to the Strength indicator for the password. You may opt to use the Password Generator button to automatically create a strong password. Just make sure to write down the password that the Password Generator creates.
  6. For Mailbox Quota, select your preferred quota.
  7. Click Create Account.

Your new email account will appear in the table below in the Email Accounts section.

Remove an Email Account

To delete an email account:

  1. Go to the Mail section of cPanel and click Email Accounts.
  2. In the Email Accounts section, find the email that you would like to remove within the table, and click Delete to the far right.
  3. A Delete button will appear at the bottom of the list of email accounts to confirm that you want to delete that specific email.
  4. Click Delete to remove the email account.

The email account and the emails within the account will be permanently deleted.