24/7/365 Support(866) 96-GATOR
  1. Knowledge Base
  2. >
  3. Why Am I Not Seeing My Changes?

Why Am I Not Seeing My Changes?

Looking for help for the GATOR Builder by HostGator Website Builder product? Please see GATOR's Knowledge Base.
This content only applies to those using GATOR Builder by HostGator.

Once you publish updates to your Gator website, it should change in real time.

If you recently saved and published your work, but are not seeing those changes from your browser, you may need to clear your Cache and Cookies. This article will cover necessary information about cache and cookies, browsers, and how to erase data from the following browsers:


What are Cache & Cookies?

Think of Cache and Cookies as your computers way of memorizing websites and holding onto the information you trade with that website. Sometimes your laptop only displays what it saw last, not what's currently available online. Browsers cache data and store information temporarily so they can return faster results, rather than downloading and retrieving that information every time you want to revisit a website.

Pro Tip: Always remember to save your work and publish when you are happy with the changes or additions you’ve made.

How To Clear Your Cache By Browser: (most common)

Clearing your browser cache and cookies is a widespread occurrence and simple task that usually explains itself within a few hours. When necessary, you can manually tell your computer to do so.

The process differs depending on your operating system, and what browser you are using, however, this article will cover the steps for clearing your cache on the most common browsers.

Chrome

  1. To clear your cache and cookies from Chrome, start by opening the settings in Chrome and clicking the row of three vertical dots (or 3 rows for older versions) to the absolute top right-hand corner of the page.
  2. From the settings, pop-up menu, select More Tools, and then Clear browsing data.
    (Alternatively, you can use this shortcut to access browsing data: Ctrl+Shift+Del)
    Pro Tip: For the best results, select the “advanced” tab and change “Clear the following items from” to the beginning of time.
  3. Select the relevant checkboxes for Cookies and other site data as well as Cached Images and Files. (It's normal to select all the boxes here except for passwords.)
  4. Once you've made your choices, click the "Clear browsing data" button and you’re all set!

Safari

  1. From your Safari browser window, at the upper left-hand menu, look for and select History.
    (You can also use the shortcut: Command+H to access this menu)
  2. Then select Clear History in the next menu to remove the saved data on Safari.
  3. A drop-down displays which will let you choose from the last hour, today, today and yesterday, or all history.
  4. This deletes your history as well as your cookies and the entire browser cache.

Firefox

  1. From a Firefox browser window, click the Menu icon located at the upper right-hand corner.
  2. Search for and select History, then search for and select Clear Recent History.
  3. You can choose how much of your history to clear by selecting the time range.
  4. Next, click the arrow alongside Details to select what information will be cleared.
  5. Your choices are described in the "What things are included in my history" section in Mozilla's FAQ.
  6. Finally, click the Clear Now button.

Internet Explorer

  1. Go to Tools, via the Gear Icon and select the option for Safety
  2. Then look for and select Delete browsing history.
  3. You can also open this menu by using the shortcut: Ctrl+Shift+Delete.
  4. Once loaded, you can select which data you want to delete by unchecking the relevant boxes: Temporary Internet Files and Cookies.
  5. After making your selections, click Delete. You’re done!

When you first publish your site or add DNS to your domain, you may be faced with something called "Propagation." Put, propagation is the amount of delay/time it takes for data to travel from the sender to the receiver. In this case, information needs to get from your local PC to your hosted server, then distributed across the global network of servers so that your content can be viewed on the internet.

For this reason, you may want to make sure your DNS is fully propagated and allow 24 hours from publish before reaching out to support in regards to publishing issues.