1. Knowledge Base
  2. >
  3. Unpublishing or Resetting website

Unpublishing or Resetting website

Looking for help for the GATOR Builder by HostGator Website Builder product? Please see GATOR's Knowledge Base.
This content only applies to those using GATOR Builder by HostGator.

As life changes around you, it's no surprise to us that you may need to take a break from all that online success at times. It's also understandable if you have walked too far down the wrong path with your website and want to start over. While other times, you may feel the need to close down your account completely.

No worries, in this article, we will cover the different ways you can either, Temporarily Unpublish your website, Reset your Template.


Temporarily Unpublishing Your Website

If you wish to hide your website from the search engines while you make various changes to your website, you can do so by following these steps:

  1. Once you have logged into your HostGator account, select the three vertical dots known as the Kebab Menu to the bottom right of the selected site and a menu will appear.
    User-added image
  2. Select Unpublish Your Site.
    User-added image
  3. Click Confirm.
    User-added image
  4. After confirming, the site is taken offline immediately and will show as Unpublished.
    User-added image
  5. When navigating to the unpublished site, a 404 page not found exception is shown.


Note: It may take some time before the site is taken down. If you are still seeing the site 24 hours after unpublishing, we suggest clearing cache and cookies on your browser.

Temporarily Unpublishing Your Website

As you work on your website, testing different elements and settings, you may find yourself reaching a point of no return that requires you to wipe the slate clean. To start over from the beginning:
  1. Select Edit Site.
    User-added image
  2. Click the Hamburger Menu button in the upper left-hand corner of your dashboard. (The 3 Horizontal lines)
    User-added image
  3. Search for, and select: Reset Template.
    User-added image
  4. Click Reset to confirm and reset the theme and clear out the work you have completed so far.
    User-added image


If you have any further questions, please feel free to Contact Us via phone or chat.