1. Knowledge Base
  2. >
  3. Results
  4. >
  5. How Do I Get the 30-day Money Back Refund?

How Do I Get the 30-day Money Back Refund?

 

We're sorry to see you go. Please let us know if we can do anything to make it better.

To get the 30-day money-back guarantee for your shared, reseller, or VPS hosting, please cancel your account within the first 30 days of purchase. We cannot refund you until the cancellation request is complete.

The following restrictions and limitations apply to our 30-day money-back guarantee:
  • Refund not valid for dedicated hosting, administrative fees, installation fees for custom software, other setup fees, domain name purchases, or certain add-on services, including SiteLock.
  • Offer valid only for the first package purchased for billing accounts less than 30 days old.
  • Refunds for orders of only $0.01 are not eligible.
  • Packages paid for with checks, money orders, or bank wire transfers are not eligible for a refund.
  • If your plan includes a free domain name and you cancel within one year, our standard fee for the domain name (and any applicable taxes) (the "Domain Name Fee") will be deducted from your refund.

Please see section 13 of our Terms of Service for complete details on our money-back guarantee and section 14 for more information regarding the cancellation process before filling out our cancellation form or viewing our article regarding How Do I Cancel My Account.


Web hosting account cancellation steps

Please see How Do I Cancel My Account? for specific information on canceling your hosting account directly within your Customer Portal.
  1. You may terminate or cancel the Hosting Account by giving HostGator written notice via the cancellation form. (See section 14 of our Terms of Service for additional information regarding the cancellation process.)
  2. You should immediately receive an automatic email with a tracking number stating, "Your request has been received...." If you do not hear back from us or do not receive the automated confirmation email within an hour after submitting your cancellation form, please contact us immediately via phone or Live Chat.
  3. Once you know we have your request, please allow us 72 hours to verify your identity and close your account. Your account will remain active until you receive our follow-up email confirming you were canceled successfully. Your cancellation confirmation will contain a ticket/tracking number in the subject line for reference and verification purposes.
  4. We will issue a refund back to the original form of payment. Please allow up to 2 weeks for the refund to post. If you use PayPal as your payment method, you will need to remove that subscription or billing agreement to avoid further charges.
  5. Unless you tell us otherwise, shared and reseller accounts will be canceled on the next renewal date, and you will continue to have access to your account until that time. If you want the cancellation to be effective on any date other than the next renewal date, please let us know when we will contact you to confirm your cancellation. We can cancel the account according to your instructions. Cancellations for dedicated and VPS accounts will be effective immediately.

We require all cancellations through the online form to confirm your identity, confirm in writing that you are prepared for all your files and emails to be removed, and document the request. This process aims to reduce the likelihood of mistakes in fraudulent/malicious requests and to ensure that you are aware that your files, emails, and account may be removed immediately and permanently after a cancellation request is processed.